Compton school board elects new officers

The Compton Unified School District (CUSD) announced the election of 2023/24 Board of Trustees Officers at the most recent CUSD Board Meeting on July 18. The current slate of officers will serve a one-year term from July 2023 until July 2024. Denzell O. Perry is the board’s new president. Ayanna E. Davis, Ed.D., has been named vice president. Micah Ali has been tabbed as the board’s clerk. The legislative representative is Alma Taylor-Pleasant.

Rounding out the new officer’s list is Satra Zurita, Sandra Moss, and Charles Davis.

“Assuming the role of President of the Board of Trustees for the Compton Unified School District is more than an honor, it’s a responsibility I embrace with my heart and soul,” said Perry. “For me, it’s about serving as a steadfast beacon for our youth, illuminating their paths towards a future defined not by their circumstances, but by their resilience and ambition. I stand with them, for them, and because of them, committed to fostering an education system that champions potential, cultivates dreams, and cherishes the promise that every student in Compton holds within.”

When Perry was elected to the CUSD Board of Trustees, he became one of the youngest elected Black officials in the state of California. Following his selection to Board President, Perry will be the youngest to serve in this position in Compton’s history.

The Compton Unified School District Board of Trustees represents seven Trustee areas and are elected by the registered voters residing in that Trustee area. To be eligible for election, Trustees must reside in the area in which they are running for election. The area voters elect the seven Trustees on a staggered basis, such that every two years voters elect either three or four Trustees.

The Board then elects its officers at each July Board meeting for a yearly term.

Dennis J. Freeman Written by:

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *